Virgin Australia - Airline Information

Virgin Australia Airlines, the country’s second-largest carrier, used to fly under the brand, Virgin Blue Airlines. As the operator of Australia’s largest fleet under the Virgin Australia Holdings brand, it ferries passengers to 50 domestic and international destinations on its fleet of 91 aircraft.

The airline was founded in 2000 under the name Virgin Blue Airlines, serving 29 cities from its hubs in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne, and operating Boeing 737s, Embraer jets and Airbus planes. Virgin Blue styled itself as a low-cost “no frills” airline, while offering the services of most full-service carriers in competition with flag carrier Qantas to secure the business travel sector of the market.

By May 2011, the airline rebranded itself with a new name, Virgin Australia, complete with new livery for its staff, the unveiling of its new flagship Airbus A330, and the launching of its domestic business class seating. As part of the rebranding, New Zealand-based Pacific Blue Airlines and long-haul international carrier V Australia merged and were incorporated into the new Virgin Australia Airlines.

Currently Virgin Australia, which flies from 5 hubs out of Brisbane Airport, Melbourne Airport, Sydney Airport, Auckland Airport, and Christchurch Airport, holds a four-star airline rating from Skytrax, a research consultancy firm. It presently operates under the slogan, “Now you’re flying,” and is headquartered at Bowen Hills in Brisbane, Queensland.

As part of Virgin Australia Holdings, it is a member of the Velocity Frequent Flyer program, and offers Business Class, Premium Economy Class, and Economy Class seating on all its domestic and international short and long-haul flights.